

Legislative Water Commission

Minutes

February 11,2019 Jim Stark, Director

65 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155-1201 Phone: (651) 284-6431 Fax: (651) 297-3697 TDD (651) 296-9896

Members present

Sen. Chuck Wiger, Co-chair

Sen. Rich Draheim

Rep. Jeff Brand

Sen. Chris Eaton

Sen. Kent Eken

Rep. Peter Fischer

Rep. Josh Heintzeman

Rep. Todd Lippert

Rep. John Poston

Sen. Bill Weber

Members excused

Rep. Paul Torkelson

Senator Wiger called the Legislative Water Commission meeting to order at 5:32 p.m. on Monday, February 11, 2019 at the State Office Building in Hearing Room 10. A quorum was present.

Representative Fischer moved approval of Minutes from the November 13, 2018 and December 10, 2018 meetings.

Motion carried.

Senator Wiger welcomed new members and introductions were made.

Representative Poston moved to elect Senator Weber and Representative Fischer as co-chairs of the Legislative Water Commission.

Motion carried.

The gavel was passed to Senator Weber.

Les Lemm, from MN Board of Water and Soil Resources (BWSR) presented an Update: Section 404, Clean Water Act.

Al Kean a chief engineer from BWSR then provided information regarding the Drainage Working Group Consensus Recommendations.

Jim Stark, Director, Legislative Water Commission, provided a brief update.

Testifiers included:

Lance Ness, AFH, FWLA, MCF (with praise for BWSR and the Section 404; Clean Water Act.)

Keith Carlson, Executive Director, Minnesota Inter-County Association (additional information regarding Section 404; Clean Water Act.)

Sue Nissen, Stop Over Salting (presented concerns regarding excessive chloride use.)

A brief discussion took place regarding scheduling meetings during session. Possibly one of the last two Monday evenings of each month may be considered. A survey will be sent out.

Meeting adjourned at 7:07 p.m.